Higher National Certificate

Higher National Certificate

Higher National Certificates are a Level 4 qualification and are are roughly equivalent to one or two years of a degree.  With a focus on practical skills and specialist knowledge related to the industry/sector of choice, HNCs can be studied around the world and are among the most highly regarded vocational qualifications within and outside of the UK. They are delivered by universities and further education colleges.

HNCs are available in a wide range of subject areas, including:

  • agriculture
  • computing and IT
  • construction and civil engineering
  • engineering
  • health and social care
  • business and management
  • sport and exercise sciences
  • performing arts
  • retail and distribution
  • hospitality management

HNCs are assessed through assignments, projects and practical tasks that you complete throughout the course.

Because HNCs are designed to give you the skills for a particular field of work, they can lead straight to a career.  You can also use the qualifications to progress within your current career to gain professional status.

HNCs can allow entry into the second year of a degree.