Minimum entry – 5 GCSEs grade 4 – 9 incl. English Language

Most providers set higher minimum entry for specific subjects;  We set a minimum GCSE grade 6 for entry to study English, Sciences, RS, MFL, PE, Psychology and grade 7 for Maths

A Levels can be studied in combination with BTECs


  • Recognised as academically rigorous qualification by employers
  • Natural preparation for traditional degrees
  • Studying 3 or 4 subjects provides a more flexible subject mix and greater opportunities for entry on to a wider range of subjects at university
  • Demonstrates wider intellectual ability and teaches higher level thinking skills, ie. analysis, critical  thinking, evaluation, academic essay writing
  • If you have the ability to study A Levels, it will keep more options open to you until after 18

A Levels are Level 3 qualifications that you can choose to take after your GCSEs.

You can take A Levels in schools, sixth form centres or at some Further Education colleges.  They are very well regarded by universities and employers.

A Levels will give you a chance to explore your GCSE subjects in greater depth or you can choose to study one of the subjects that many schools and colleges only offer at A Level such as Law, Economics or Psychology. They are good preparation if you are thinking of going onto Higher Education or if you are not sure of your career plans, as they can keep your options open.

Lots of young people choose to do A Levels post-16 and these are excellent general qualifications that are valued by employers and universities. A Levels offer a great route into Higher Education and employment (there are also routes to Higher Education from vocational qualifications).

Remember, even if you decide to do A Levels at 16 you could still do an Advanced, Higher or Degree Apprenticeship later.

Many employers offering Higher or Degree Apprenticeships are asking forA Level grades and UCAS points – just like universities.

Both universities and employers really value A Levels.

After A Level qualifications, many students continue their study or training through an apprenticeship, vocational qualification or a higher education course at a university or college.

A Levels are graded A*-E and these are all regarded as pass grades and gain tariff / UCAS points towards entrance to Higher Education.

Some employers now specify a required number of UCAS points for some of their jobs or apprenticeships.

Why Choose A Levels?