Higher National Diploma

A Higher National Diploma (HND) is a Level 5 qualification.  HNDs are roughly equivalent to one or two years of a degree. With a focus on practical skills and specialist knowledge related to the industry/sector of choice, HNDs can be studied around the world and are among the most highly regarded vocational qualifications within and outside of the UK.  They are delivered by universities and further education colleges, and have been developed to give students the opportunity to easily “top up” to an honours degree, which means studying a third year at university or college.

HNDs are available in a wide range of subject areas, including:

  • agriculture
  • computing and IT
  • construction and civil engineering
  • engineering
  • health and social care
  • business and management
  • sport and exercise sciences
  • performing arts
  • retail and distribution
  • hospitality management

HNDs are assessed through assignments, projects and practical tasks that you complete throughout the course.

Because HNDs are designed to give you the skills for a particular field of work, they can lead straight to a career.  You can also use the qualifications to progress within your current career to gain professional status.